timestamp postcard (front).jpg

Group Exhibition: Timestamp: Snapshots of a Changing DC
May 31 - July 27, 2019

Carroll Square Gallery
975 F Street NW
Washington, DC 20004
(202) 466-5050

Opening Reception: May 31, 6:00 - 8:00 p.m.
Gallery Talk: June 29, 4:00 - 6:00 p.m.
Closing Reception: July 27, 4:00 - 7:00 p.m.

Like several cities across the country, many Washington DC neighborhoods have drastically changed over the years. Whether this evolution is labeled progress and development or gentrification and ruin, the transformation is undeniable. It is a complex process with multiple systemic issues, points of entry, and cultural understandings. It is both government and grandma’s house—people and not just politics. These photographers capture their experience of this shifting cityscape, as well as the pulse of its humanity.

Artists included: Steven Cummings, Chris Downing, Esther Hidalgo, Michael Horsley, Beverly Price, Carolyn Toye, Jerry Truong
Curated by Gia Harewood & Jarvis DuBois

Announced as a recipient of a grant from the Maryland State Arts Council

The Maryland State Arts Council (MSAC) announced today that $246,000 has been awarded to 105 Maryland artists through the 2019 Individual Artist Awards (IAA). This year’s awardees were chosen from a group of 669 applicants and represent some of the state’s leading authors, visual artists, theater performers and digital/electronic and media artists.

Administered in partnership with Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation, the 2019 IAAs recognize outstanding artistic achievements of artists from across Maryland. This year’s awardees represent the fields of Creative Nonfiction/Fiction, Digital/Electronic Arts, Media Arts, Painting, Theater Solo Performance, and Works on Paper. Awardees were chosen, based solely on artistic merit, by an out-of-state jury of discipline-specific experts.

Awardees will be honored during a ceremony on Saturday, June 8, 2019, at the conclusion of the first Maryland Arts Summit, which will be held at the University of Maryland Baltimore County. In addition to the recognition, Individual Artists receive grants of $1,000, $3,000 or $6,000 in support of their continued artistic growth. The full list of 2019 IAA awardees can be found here.

Group Exhibition: Alchemical Vessels 2019: The Transformative Power of the Written Word
April 11 - June 1, 2019

Joan Hisaoka Healing Arts Gallery
@ Smith Center for Healing & the Arts
1632 U Street NW
Washington, DC 20009
(202) 483-8600

Opening Reception: April 12, 7:00 - 9:00 p.m.
Benefit Event: May 3, 7:00 p.m.
Artist’s Talk and Closing Reception: May 25, 1:00 - 3:00 p.m.

The 7th Annual Alchemical Vessels Exhibition and Benefit at the Joan Hisaoka Healing Arts Gallery - The Transformative Power of the Written Word - is inspired by the Smith Center’s Cancer Support Programs community. Artists were asked to create vessels as a response to selected written pieces authored by Smith Center participants over the years. The wellness programs offered at Smith Center give participants the unique opportunity to explore the process of healing through personal expression, integrative healing practices, and community support. Together, artists, healers and those in need of healing, have experienced alchemy — the inexplicable, magical, and profound transformation of the human spirit.

2019 participating artists include: Negar Ahkami, Sobia Ahmad, Julie Ainsworth, Lina Alattar, Maremi Andreozzi, Damon Arhos, Andrew Baritz, Meg Biram, Daniel Brooking, Nikki Brugnoli Whipkey, Patrick Burns, Adjoa Burrowes, Renee Butler, Craig Cahoon, Rosyln Cambridge, Martin Cervantez, Kung Chee Keong, Kay Chernush, Schroeder Cherry, Naomi Christianson, Irene Clouthier, Mandy Cooper, Susi Cora, Tory Cowles, Sala Damali, Marcel Deolazo, Juliee Dickerson-Thompson, Elsabe Dixon, Patricia Eprem, Sharon Fishel, Lillian Fitzgerald, Kate Fitzpatrick, Maya Fletcher Sun, Elaine Florimonte, Cianne Fragione, Carey Francis, Barbara Frank, Helen Frederick, Emily Fussner, Ric Garcia, Beth Hansen, Sarah Hardesty, Robin Harris, Francine Haskins, Mira Hecht, Alessandra Hernandez, Jeff Herrity, Lisa Hill, Leslie Holt, Gary Honig, Noelle Imparto, Bahar Jalehmahmoudi, Benjamin Jancewicz, Barbara Januszkiewicz, Guy Jones, Christopher Kardambikis, Anna Katalkina, Nilou Kazemzadeh, Jean Kim, Gary Kret, Kate Kretz, Jeremy Kunkel, Shelley Lowenstein, Jayne Matricardi, Carolina Mayorga, Scot Mckenzie, Tim Moran, Cynthis Mosley Sands, Kelsey Nieto, Lisa Noble, Jen Noone, Shanti Norris, Zsudayka Nzinga (Terrell), Anthony Palliparambil, Elizabeth Piper Board, Kelly Posey, Rafeal Rodriguez, Azadeh Sahraeian, Rael Salley, Renee Sandell, Rhonda Silver, Anne Smith, Champ Taylor, James Terrell, Evans Thorne, Jerry Truong, Denise Valdez, Ellyn Weiss, Michael West, Josh Whipkey, Dawn Whitmore, Elise Wiarda, Jenny Wu, Thomas Xenakis, Bobby Yi, Abigail Yitagesu, Saaraliisa Ylitalo

Announced as a recipient of a grant from the Arts & Humanities Council of Montgomery County

Artists and Scholars Project Grants support the work of individual artists and scholars who reside in Montgomery County. Projects focus on the creation of artistic or scholarly work, and/or professional development. Thirty-six artists received FY19 awards within this category. The full list of grant awardees can be found here.